Tags

, , ,

Last night I went to see Evolution, a theatre on ice performance by Cirque de Glace retelling the story of the humans’ presence on and relationship with Earth.

This is the first time in my life I saw anything like this, which is why I went with no expectations.

And I loved it.

The show is basically a colorful eruption of magnificently flexible bodies, which fly around the room, cling on to improbable little hooks and ropes and then land on ice skates with the same assurance you and I get out of bed in the morning.

Magnetic feet, lean arms, iron legs and beautiful skating tell the story.

From the dark beginnings of Earth to the invention of the wheel, the Middle Ages and then a leap to the Industrial Revolution and climate change.

I spent half my journey through time pressing my knees together and hoping no bones will break and the other half musing over the limits (or lack thereof) of the human body.

